242

To Plant. Or should I say two planted. Two farms down two to go on this corn run. I started planting corn on the west farm last evening. I finished up tonight in the dark. The only breakdowns were a packer wheel spring last evening even before I started and a flat front tire on the 1466 tonight as I was nearly done and it was nearly dark. Fortunately I had a spare here at home so It was a quick fix. I still needed headlights to finish planting the field. Two for two there.

The landlord/neighbor stopped to get some corn today. He saw we had been hauling out corn with the vacuum. He didn’t know the vacuum needed welded. His grown son was around though and he’s an iron worker so that was a win win situation. They fixed the auger tube on the vacuum and loaded their three hundred bushel wagon afterwords. I only had to stop planting twice to talk to them for a bit. Relatively painless. So I suppose two for two there.

Today the stay at gone mom brought me out some food and drink. Not only once, twice! I don’t think I dozed off all day. It’s amazing what a difference vittles make. I made er fifteen hours today. Counting the breakdowns. The couple sandwich breaks and the thermos of hot tea made for a spoiled rotten day. Egg and cheese sandwiches on toast with hot tea for brunch and  a Philly steak with french fries and a pop for supper. Two for three there? Cheap!

‘Could be a Trick.

To sleep.

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

