Squeaking Wheel

Where to start. Everything’s squeaking. Got Grease?

First thing this morning the older brother called. He had a welder guy showing up to fix up the auger on the vacuum. I know the landlord’s son fixed it last weekend. This guy is going to add a strap of metal around the tube to reenforce it. Last night as the rain brought the day to a close the tile line layers showed up to park their machinery down in the neighbor/landlord’s gate. They’re laying tile as I write. I’m writing this as I wait for the welder guy to call after dinner this fine May morning. Morning for two more minutes anyway. Unless you run off the sun like I do. Then it’s morning for another hour. Sorry, you can’t save daylight. Nice try though.

I ran up north of town to move the tractor and planter from on the field to on the headland so the CO-OP boys can float on the liquid nitrogen and weed killer. Weed and feed they call it. One pass plus I call it. We use a little atrazine along with a product called Corvus to keep the weeds down. We use liquid nitrogen 28% solution instead of the normal water to “carry” the chemicals out through the spray boom to be applied at the same time. When I say we I mean the CO-OP and I. I pay for it, they sell it and apply it. Oui?

Well that’s about it for now. The welder guy hasn’t called but I still gotta go measure the auger tube so when he does I can confirm the size of the rolled steel he has to bring. Good fortune be yours on all you’re going to do. Pray for rain. We still need it. Two days of rain and we still haven’t an inch. Not far south they’ve had none. Planters are still rolling down Treynor way and points on south. And around here we’re tiling and spraying . When I moved the planter I was thinking I’ve gone ahead and planted in soil this wet before. It more or less depends on the calender. That says it’s still early. Seven acres won’t make or break me. A little more rain may come in handy later on. Say in July or August?

I better get back to the grease.

Later on …….

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

