Disappear

I disappeared for the afternoon/evening. I went for a quick trip yesterday to pick up insulators for the electric fence, drop a dividend check off at the bank, and check the final storm damage to the crop ground and crops. I had driven around during the loll in the storm the other evening. We had a lot of rain after that. We didn’t fare too bad. We lost some rain down the hills and caught more than a few ice bullets but all in all the worst of the storm missed us. The same can’t be said for quite a swath of south west Iowa and east central Nebraska. If you draw a line from north of Fremont Nebraska to south of Griswold Iowa and you cut a swath along that line about four or five miles wide you will see in that enclosure a lot of busy people. I know. I couldn’t help driving it. That quick trip turned into a long slow ride.

The trees are taken back a month and a half in color as they were de leafed by Ice bullets and baseball battery. When you drive by a few trees the smell of freshly sharpened pencils fills the air. Trees, grain bins, pole sheds and sections of house roofs are scattered all across fields and roads. The grass looks freshly mowed to the ground except on the down wind side of trees, buildings and embankments. Over on the river bottom where they have them around Missouri Valley Iowa the center pivot irrigation rigs are tipped over here and there. The corn which was getting near knee high is dotted lines across barren fields. The newly emerged soybeans look no different, if you can even see the dotted lines of stumps. The crops just disappeared.

It’s been confirmed an F-2 tornado is what took the neighbors shed and Warren Buffet’s power towers. (up to fourteen I’ve heard) That was dead center in the swath of damage caused by the super celled storm. Derecho type storm Farm TV was trying to call it this morning on US Farm Report, a weekly agricultural television show put out by Farm Journal I believe. I don’t care what you call it I call it ugly. Uglier than my cornfield when I ran the whole herd out of it this morning. But not much in spots. Like where they circled by the gate in the hot wire waiting to be let back in. I’m not sure they even left the dotted lines. The neighbor called and said they had been out all night. That’s what I get for leaving that long. I knew better. They did too. It’s time to “disappear” a few of the ornery critters. A slow ride to the sale barn. Or two.

That’s where you’ll find me. Soon.

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

