Some Summer

The last day of summer. I know I have been speaking of Fall but the first day isn’t until tomorrow. It’s still summer if only for a day. What are you going to do with it. I think I’m getting my other combine out of the barn over on the west farm here on Rosewood Road. I already took the 1460 out of the barn here at home to move heads around. The last couple of weeks I’ve been hauling three heads home from about one hundred miles away out in Nebraska. I bought them a year ago and the gentleman I bought them from was getting antsy to be rid of them. I plan on using the 15″ bean head on the 1440 this year. The 20″ head I used last year is too wide for these old hills and that narrower, lighter combine. I fought it all last year.

The 1400 series (1420, 1440, 1460, 1480) IH Axial Flow combines never had the pivoting, land hugging head mount on the feeder houses that the later models came out with. On side hills in western Iowa the combines can get to leaning over pretty far as we cut around the hills. Farmers used to tip over a combine once in a while. I’m just trying to keep the whole width of the cutter bar down on the ground. On the bottoms are no problem, this year that’s only about twenty acres on the two hundred soybean acres I have to harvest. The rest is up on the side hill where the “new” head will pay off. Cutting up and down the sides of wash outs with a narrower head may be better also. As long as I’m not disking them shut before finishing the combining. Then the extra width is beneficial, giving more room to maneuver the disk.

I guess I’m spending my last day of summer much as I’ve spent the last number of days, getting ready for fall. And telling the internet about it. Also known as staying in the same routine. The nights are getting long enough you hardly need an afternoon nap. The nights are getting chilly enough you may have to close a window sometime through the night. I’m getting old enough I can close them when I get up to pee. It won’t be long we won’t be able to leave the windows open. We’re going to miss the sweltering days of summer. We kind of did miss them this year anyway. I’m looking forward to Indian summer as it will at least be some summer if we get it. So far this year it’s never quite made it this far north. Some summer is a good thing. Even if but for a day.

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

