Field Four

Last field. The fifteen acres alongside the lane and road are about half combined. When I stopped at sundown last night I had everything except the two Stanhoist barge boxes and the anti gravity wagon full of beans. Including the 1440. After a miscommunication the truck wasn’t called to haul away a load yesterday. Fortunately the seven or so acres I have left will fit on the two Stanhoist  wagons leaving the bigger anti gravity wagon to use when I switch over to combine corn. Just in case we continue to miscommunicate with the trucker and the beans sit on wagons for a while. I like leaving my options open.

Yesterday morning while the dew burnt off I moved the hot wire re bar posts over alongside the beans by the fence across the creek so I wouldn’t hit them when I cut the outside Round. I saved the outside to finish filling hoppers that were too full for another round but not quite full yet. I would whittle away at that outside round a little at a time filling those nearly full hoppers on my way back to the wagons I dump the combine on. Then I loaded some old cement and rocks to throw onto the creek crossing. I was able to drive down through the crossing my grandad put in back in the fifties.

Well I’m fresh back from loading another semi load to go to the crush plant. The trucker called as I was writing that last paragraph. It’s twenty after ten on a dry, dew free morning. There’s a breeze picking up out of the east and that can mean rain. I better go hit it one more time. With any luck the next post will be to brag about getting done with the beans. Make hay when the sun shines they say. That reminds me I have fifty five acres of pasture/grass hay that needs to be hauled in from the field where my older brother custom baled it. That should be done before the snow flies. It will be one of those filler jobs when the opportunities present themselves.

Gotta go …….

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

