November

The auger is fixed. The bin is full. As are almost all of the wagons. The whole shebang is grouped down by the pasture inside the fence along the road. I’m waiting to load a couple of semis full of corn for delivery to the alcohol plant co owned by Bunge of North America just south of Council Bluffs along Interstate Highway I-29. We’re going to spot a few loads into the market. My older brother’s driver is bringing one of the brother’s trucks. We will load him on the road from the field. I have a long enough auger to reach across thee road ditch and dump on the truck while it still sits on the gravel road. That way we can keep the roadside on the road and the field side in the field.

It’s Monday November 3rd. November is for picking corn. I have forty acres done and two hundred eighty to go. This could be my largest corn run ever. I hope it all goes well. Yesterday I put the 1440 and twenty foot bean head away in the barn. I’m hoping the 1460 will last through the fall. I never used it at all last year. It sat around as a spare while I ran everything through the 1440. The 1460 has better lights, more power with it’s trurbo, and a few more bushels of grain tank capacity, and a longer unloading auger. With corn yielding three times as much as beans the extras start to really add up. It also has heavier final drives and a beefier transmission, both adding stability to it’s stance.

I may try planting my ten bags of winter rye today. At any rate I’m going to have the stay at gone mom run to Co op and pick them up after we load the corn. I plan on planting them alongside gulleys so I can fill the gulleys in with a dirt scraper or tractor & loader next summer after I harvest off my cover crop seed for next fall. That’s the theory anyway. I’ve been told all the rye needs to do is germinate this fall to be a viable crop next summer. I think we still have warm enough soil. The temps have been above normal the last couple weeks. I know we have wet enough soil. It never seems to quit raining.

That’s about it from the corn patch. Have a great month. Be thankful we have it.

See ya then, see ya there …….

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

