Monsoon Or

Later. That’s the answer to the earlier question, “Monsooner or later?” on the Sore Beans edition here on CoCreator’s Blog. Oops, I mean Cocreator’s New Blog. We’ve had so much rain here in western Iowa over the last few months that it’s hard to believe it. In my thirty three years of growing corn and beans I never have seen two back to back months of perfect rain. Our second grass cutting of hay was as good as the first. Even the foxtail was lush and full.

We have to be cautious where we drive, the wet spots are out there. The ones that haven’t been drained with drainage tile that is. The ones that are going to be are easy to find if the rest of the soil ever gets a chance to dry out. It’s been like living inside a center pivot irrigation crop circle. The rains have been that regular and soaking. The corn was filled out to the tip with nice big ears. I can’t wait to get started in the sorebeans tomorrow.

I don’t know what got into me today. Two posts after a two month hiatus. It must be harvest. I enjoy looking back at these posts after few months or longer. Especially starts and stops. Like reading Sore Beans today after I posted today’s other episode. That post was about getting done planting back in May. Where did the summer go? I’ll never know, I didn’t post it.

See ya then, see ya there …….

Cc

Standard

Leave a Reply

